News:

;) This forum is the property of Proton software developers

Main Menu

How change fuses in bootloader

Started by Frizie, Feb 15, 2024, 11:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frizie

I'm a beginner when it comes to bootloaders  :-[
Now I have obtained a bootloader for my PIC18F46K22 through Evan.
If I create a Positron program, I can load it into the PIC without a PIC programmer, but via the Tiny Multi Bootloader.

This works fine, but now I want to change a config setting (fuse setting).
But config settings made in Positron are not changed by the bootloader  :o

How can I change the config settings? ???
Can this be done in Positron or does it have to be done in another way?
Ohm sweet Ohm | www.picbasic.nl

trastikata

A well designed bootloader should not allow fuse changes because by changing the fuse settings one can render the bootloader inoperable.

Also depending on how the memory is partitioned I usually lock, when it's possible, the first memory blocks where the bootloader resides. In all cases I put some address checking in the bootloader to prevent it writing in the fuse configuration space and the bootloader space.

The purpose to all this is whatever it happens the customer can always restore the device to its original state and there is no chance bricking the device by using the wrong firmware update.

This  is to explain why you probably won't be able to change fuses when using a commercial bootloader.

Frizie

I understand that Trastikata.
It is also not my intention to change the fuses during the upload with the bootloader, but to change the fuses at the time of programming the bootloader itself.
According to Evan I can reconfigure it in IPE.

Now, I have not worked with the IPE before, I have opened it but I don't get much further than an empty field.
(I pressume that Evan means MPLAB IPE)

Can anyone give me some direction?  ???

trastikata