News:

;) This forum is the property of Proton software developers

Main Menu

Ethernet Communication Interface

Started by Fred, Feb 26, 2021, 04:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fred

I am newbie here and this my first post.

I want to make a communication between the PIC to notebook throught the ethernet, can someone here provide me a sample and simple code.

Thanks.
Fred

TimB

What serial to ethernet module do you have?

Gamboa

Hi Fred,
I am using Xport from Lantronix. It is a very expensive but very effective solution. It is a gateway from Usart to Ethernet. The PIC works as a serial port and the XPORT translates your serial frame to Ethernet protocol. It works very well.
On the other hand there are cheaper things in Wiznet, but I have not tried them.

Regards,
Gamboa
Long live for you

John Drew

Hi Fred,
I have used the Wiznet solution successfully.
Here is a write up of my experiments.
http://www.vk5dj.com/internet.html
Cheers
John
VK5DJ

Fred

Quote from: TimB on Feb 26, 2021, 06:30 PMWhat serial to ethernet module do you have?

TimB,
I still no have an ethernet module, I will buy once I have any information and suggestion  from here.

Fred

Fred

Quote from: Gamboa on Feb 27, 2021, 05:59 AMHi Fred,
I am using Xport from Lantronix. It is a very expensive but very effective solution. It is a gateway from Usart to Ethernet. The PIC works as a serial port and the XPORT translates your serial frame to Ethernet protocol. It works very well.
On the other hand there are cheaper things in Wiznet, but I have not tried them.

Regards,
Gamboa

Gamboa,
Thanks for info, I will look and search the product.

Do you have a sample code in proton side, example to control a led (on and off).

Fred.

Fred

Quote from: John Drew on Feb 27, 2021, 07:59 AMHi Fred,
I have used the Wiznet solution successfully.
Here is a write up of my experiments.
http://www.vk5dj.com/internet.html
Cheers
John
VK5DJ

John,
Thanks for a link.
Seems like the board you are using under RS232.