Offsetting compiler library start address for bootloader

Started by mikeselectricstuff, Jun 28, 2022, 05:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikeselectricstuff

Hi - I'm not a Proton user, but have been asked by a user to look at implementing my (existing) serial bootloader code ( written in XC8) to their existing Proton8 Basic PIC16F15355 project. 

My bootloader sits at the bottom 256 words of memory, so what's needed is to shift the whole Proton code ( compiler library, reset/interrupt vector entry points and aplication code) up by 0x100 words. (In Microchip XC8, this can be done using the -codeoffset option.)

I've had a quick play with the trial version and the "blink" example, and although I can move the application code up using the org directive, the compiler is still putting some startup/library code at 0x000.

Is there a way to tell the compiler to just move everything up by a specified offset, or place the startup/library code at a different address?

(I did look at the assembler view, and looks like it would be possible, though fiddly,  to tweak things here, but couldn't get it to assemble - I just got an info window that looked like it was failing to find mpasmwin.exe i did try copying Microchip mpasmwin.exe to PDS\bin but got errros due to it not finding the right includes)

top204

There is a declare in the compiler to move the start of the compiler's code up in flash memory, and any interrupt vectors are also positioned after the new flash address.

For example, for an 18F device:

Declare Compiler_Start_Address = $0100

Once the above declare is used in the BASIC listing, the assembler listing will now be:
_compiler__start_
    org 0X0100
    goto _compiler_main_start_

Where it has moved the compiler's start to flash memory address $0100 (256)

If interrupt/s are required:

Declare Compiler_Start_Address = $0100
On_Hardware_Interrupt GoTo ISR_Handler_High
On_Low_Interrupt GoTo Isr_Handler_Low

It will produce the assembler code:
_compiler__start_