News:

PROTON pic BASIC Compilers for PIC, PIC24, dsPIC33

Main Menu

Migrating from picbasic pro 2.60

Started by harryouaibe, Jun 24, 2022, 11:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

harryouaibe

Hi,

I'm using PBP2.60 for a long time, I have hundred of programs.
I would like to know if there is already a program (script ?) to translate PBP to POSITRON, before buying it.
Or at least a document which can help me to migrate faster.
I'm looking to buy POSITRON because of the large supported devices it could give.... As many Microchip are unavailable at this time.
Regards
Herve
Paris France

John Lawton

Sorry, I don't know of a script or conversion program. I started out using PBP and even did a recent USB project with it, but mostly I have been using Proton and now Positron for many years now. Migrating isn't too difficult, basically there are many more commands to find out about, but many of the old PBP ones translate fairly easily as they share a common heritage in Basic Stamp syntax.

The 8 bit manual is here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1n66aAuRWKTOSjlghpizfoyKQcVBGFxq3/view?usp=sharing and it is well worth studying.

harryouaibe

Thank you John.... Maybe I will try to make a python script to translate some of differences
Regards

trastikata

Why do you need to translate them? Aren't they working? By now they should be stable enough to need only minor fixes that you can continue doing in Picbasic.

If the need for a major update/upgrade for any old program appears, it would be easier to simply re-write it in Positron than updating and modifying a script translated program. 

Otherwise leave them be and start writing the new programs using Positron from now on.

John Lawton

The OP stated the reason which is the present chip shortages and hence the need to port old programs to use different devices that can be obtained but sadly PBP may not support.

trastikata