News:

;) This forum is the property of Proton software developers

Main Menu

Importance of jumping

Started by shantanu@india, Aug 18, 2021, 07:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shantanu@india

Hi,
The title is deliberately misleading.....jumping means 'GoTo' in Basic or 'JMP' in assembler...whatever... :)
I have jumped from here & there right from the day one when I started coding in 1987.
But GoTo/Labels/Jumps are not allowed in Python since it is a highly structured language!!
I nowadays use micropython to write code for ESP8266 & find the absence of jump a definite impediment.
Maybe the key lies in the mode of working of an interpreted language like python....jumping prevents linear & sequential code execution by the virtual machine.
Regards
Shantanu

John Drew

Hi Shantanu,
I agree, jumps can be very helpful used in the right spot.
However I'm not so sure about the reference to being highly structured leading to no jumps. Pascal is highly structured yet has labels and goto etc.
I suspect your second suggestion is more likely.
Best wishes
John

shantanu@india

Yes John I am learning to live without jumping.
In some deeply introspective moments I have started to feel that GoTo is really an escape route for average coders... but unfortunately I am still average. ;D
Regards
Shantanu

Stephen Moss

It really depends on how you are using the GoTo commands, which in part is determined by how you structure you program/coding style.
I think in the beginning that many of us older programmers used GoTo statements a lot due to how coding was generally structured back in the day and that coding back then was more a work of self discovery and GoTo is easy to understand, as opposed to these days where many are taught programming in the modern Object Oriented style at school to some extent.